Degree Programs

SUNY Empire State College's School for Undergraduate Studies currently offers degrees in seven structured programs and 12 broad areas of study. 

Structured Degree Programs

The college also offers structured degree programs in:

Areas of Study and Concentrations

When students select one of the 12 areas of study, they will then plan a concentration – a focus to their studies – within this area. With the guidance of  a faculty mentor, they will have the opportunity to plan their own degree program based on their goals and objectives. Their faculty mentor will be there to advise and assist them along the way.  The 12 areas of study, along with examples of possible concentrations, offered by SUNY Empire are:

  • The Arts – Examples of concentrations include communications and media, history of film, visual arts studies and theater.
  • Business, Management and Economics – Examples of concentrations include marketing, business information systems, international business and emergency management.
  • Community and Human Services – Examples of concentrations include social policy, health and human services, disability studies and criminal justice.
  • Cultural Studies – Examples of concentrations include communications, expository writing, literature, philosophy and religious studies.
  • Educational Studies – Examples of concentrations include training and staff development, adult learning, teaching and learning, and early childhood studies.
  • Historical Studies – Examples of concentrations include military history, Asian-American history, American history, modern social and economic history.
  • Human Development – Examples of concentrations include childhood development, studies in adolescence and aging.
  • Interdisciplinary/Multidisciplinary Studies – You can design concentrations that cut across or combine studies from the college’s other program areas.
  • Labor Studies – Examples of concentrations include labor history, labor studies and economics of work.
  • Public Affairs (bachelor’s degrees only) – Examples of concentrations include health policy, homeland security, public administration, public communications and public policy.
  • Science, Mathematics and Technology – Examples of concentrations include information systems, environmental studies, biology and mathematics.
  • Social Science – Examples of concentrations include African-American or ethnic studies, women’s studies, public policy, sociology, and political science.

In each of these 12 areas of study, Empire State College students may earn any one of the following degrees:

  • Associate in Arts (A.A.).
  • Associate in Science (A.S.).
  • Bachelor of Arts (B.A.).
  • Bachelor of Science (B.S.).
  • Bachelor of Professional Studies (B.P.S.) (in The Arts, Business, Management and Economics, Community and Human Services, Interdisciplinary/Multidisciplinary Studies, Labor Studies, Public Affairs, and Technology only.)

Undergraduate Certificates

Undergraduate certificates provide focused study to support a specific career interest and are applicable to at least one undergraduate area of study. Associate and bachelor's degree program plans may include a certificate. Undergraduate certificates offered by SUNY Empire are: